My Impossibles

I found this idea of putting together an impossible list from Thomas Frank who is the founder of College Info Geek who got the idea from Joel Runyun’s Impossible List. The focus of having an impossible list is more of an action plan verses a bucket list which most people typically keep on the back burner.

Putting together this list and actually working on something everyday has changed my life completely. So much so- that I am taking one full month off of everything that I want to do and doing things that I need to do. I am not going to give in to my desire for pizza and procrastinating on facing my fears and replace them with healthy habits like running and reading. Instead of watching the 30 minutes of Netflix each night before bed, I’ll be praying. Like I said in my first post- enough is enough. My fear of going the wrong way has kept me standing still for too long… no more.

I will be continuing to add to this list, but this is what I have thought of thus far. I will be crossing off the items I complete along with the completion date. My goal with these is to video or photograph my progress and/or final product if applicable.

Current Focuses:

  • Run/Hike/Bike/Walk 30 minutes min a day
  • Learn to surf (Goal is to surf on my 30th birthday)
    • Do cross training for strength training
    • Study surfing techniques (Reading blogs, watching videos every week)
    • Read, study and watch surfing experts
  • Do 50 push ups in a single set (currently at 25)

Current Challenges

  • Do the cold shower therapy everyday until my 30th birthday (July)
  • Saving money for July trip while paying off debt
  • Eating healthy everyday- no sugar!

My Impossible Goals:

Life Goals

  • Learn to surf (Goal is to surf on my 30th birthday)
    • Become a confident swimmer
    • Learn to float
    • Do cross training for strength training
    • Study surfing techniques (Reading blogs, watching videos every week)
    • Read, study and watch surfing experts
    • Contact surfing instructor to inform him of my goal
    • Visit the ocean as much as possible (2x month- I live about 2 hours away)
    • Get used to being in cold water (Thanks cold shower therapy…)
  • Sky dive (Goal is to sky dive on my 30th birthday as well)
    • Schedule time with company
  • Perform dance on stage
    •  Talk with studios about pricing and dates for classes
    • Research local dance studio (Jan 2017)
    • Schedule and pay for classes to begin (Feb 18 2017)
    • Start taking dance classes (Starting March 18 2017)
    • Put together portfolio for auditions
    • Audition for plays/ events
  • Hold a tarantula
  • Take a vacation by myself
    • Planning this trip this year for my 30th birthday in July
    • (Surfing, sky diving, tattoo)
  • Shark Therapy
    • Pet a shark (rescue tank)
    • Adopt a shark (donations to an organization)
    • Shark dive or swim with sharks

Fitness Goals

  • Do Not weight myself for an entire year
  • Run 2x a week (currently doing 2 miles each time)
    • Run at least 5 miles each time I run
    • Run a mile in less then 9 minutes (currently at 11.5)
  • Bike 2x a week
  • Hike 1x a week
    • Hike on a different trial each week
    • Research trials and keep record of each
  • 3-5 sets of stairs each week
  • Do 50 push ups in a single set
  • Do 10 pulls ups in a single set
  • Plank for 3 minutes for 1 month straight (I HATE planks btw)
  • Participate in a color run
  • Do a Tough Mudder

Nutrition Goals

  • Eat something healthy everyday (harder for me then it seems)

Creative Goals

  • Write a movie script
  • Write a song
  • Post videos on my impossible progress

Skill Goals

  • Learn sign language
  • Go back to school (Figuring out what classes I want to study at the moment)
  • Study Chinese medicine
  • Toastmasters

Fun Goals

  • Earn 50,000 points in Khan academy by the end of February ’17 (February 14, 2017)
  • Take an improv class
  • Be a guest speaker on a podcast
  • Take a self defense class
  • Get my next tattoo (30th Birthday)
    • Research tattoo artists and their styles
    • Read reviews (if possible)
    • Talk with the artist
    • Send them ideas for the tattoo and get date scheduled
  • Have something important enough to do a TED talk
  • Go extreme camping

Events to attend

Travel Goals

  • Stay in Maui for 2 weeks
  • Visit haunted castles in Europe
  • Visit abandoned locations throughout America (road trip!)
  • Hike Death Valley
  • Visit Halloween Club
  • Sit and Pray at:
    • Amazon river, Brazil
    • Northern Lights, Iceland
    • Petra, Jordon
    • Cairo, Egypt
    • Machu Picchu, Peru
    • Jerusalem, Israel
  • Drink coffee in:
    • Seattle
    •  Italy
    • Greece
    • Vienna
    • Amsterdam

Bible Studies

  • Bible Study everyday (currently going through The Armor of God by Priscilla Shirer) (Finished series on  February 27th)

Financial Goals

  • Pay off debt
  • Get car fixed (This has always been on my list)
  • Save a little at a time to do important things

Ministry Goals

  • Lead in a ministry at church
  • Write and preach a sermon
  • Be a mentor
  • Start a ministry (youth girls)
  • Lead a bible study
  • Become a missionary

 

Mark 11:24: Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

Leave a Reply

